Tips for Children’s Sessions

When photographing kids, you never know what to expect! Some kids sit still and do exactly what they are asked while others well, do the opposite! Even the most well behaved kids have their moments so don’t be embarrassed if this happens during your session. Below are a few tips that will help your session go smoothly.

Avoid nap time: I can’t stress this enough; if the time I suggest is during your little one’s nap time please speak up. The end result will be much better if he or she is well rested.

Two sessions: In the past, I had a newborn that cooperated for about an hour and then just wasn’t having it. We didn’t have enough time to get all of the shots we wanted, so we ended up doing another quick session. During the second session, the baby was sound asleep and we got exactly what we wanted! If your child gets to the studio and is having an awful day, don’t be afraid to bring them back another day. There isn’t a fee to bring them again if we both decide that rescheduling is best.

Don’t hold back: When I photograph kids in the studio, I have the parents stand behind me and talk to their child to make them smile. I do it this way because it always seems like the kids smile when I’m doing something silly and by the time I have the camera back up to my eye, they’re not smiling anymore. This is why I have the parents help so I can capture those super quick smiles. Don’t hold back, you know what makes your kid smile! I totally understand that some of the things that makes kids smile is funny at home but a little awkward in public. The stranger the noises I make, the bigger Ryan (my baby) smiles! It’s slightly embarrassing to make those noises in front of other people, but it’s totally worth it! Like I said before, don’t hold back. I’m not judging and if I’m laughing, I’m laughing with you! 🙂

DSC_0304

Now you’re probably wondering what I did to get this smile 🙂

Leave a comment